Nipawin has a population of 5036 and is located on Hwy. 55 in northeastern Saskatchewan, 281 km (175 miles) from Saskatoon. The Canadian Pacific Railway also runs through the town. Nipawin is nestled between two lakes (Tobin Lake and Codette Lake) and surrounded by agricultural development and forest. The town first saw activity in 1912 with the establishment of a trading post. The name Nipawin comes from the Indian word "NEPOWEWIN" meaning standing place where the Indian women and children would wait for their men to come home from treks by canoe.
Nipawin's largest employer is CanAmera Foods, which have a workforce of about 75. They are also the largest processor in Canada of vegetable oil, the Nipawin area grains find their way to local seed crushing plants where their oils are extracted, making products such as margarine and cooking oils. Other important industries int the area are marketing (serving a population of approximately 60,000 with annual retail sales estimated in the area of $226,600,000), Honey production (with over 31,000 bee hives in the area and producing 6.2 million pd. of quality honey annually) and the lumber industry.
There are two elementary schools, and one junior/senior highschool in Nipawin with approximately 1100 students. French immersion is offered from kindergarten to grade 12. There is also the Cumberland Region College. The town has a hospital (with a capacity of 50 beds) and 3 clinics (with 11 doctors at present).
There are many activities that can be enjoyed in Nipawin and the local area some of them are fishing, hiking, biking,shopping, swimming, touring local farms skiing, ice skating, taking in a baseball game, soccer, bowling, golfing, seeing a play and dining out.
Nipawin Business listings
Hydroelectric Dam Vista View Point Pavillion
5 km south of Nipawin on Hwy. 35
(306) or (306) 862-5338
An excellent viewpoint of the dam and its facilities. Open daily during the summer season. Admission free. Offers full wheelchair access.
Nipawin & District Living Forestry Museum
This museum's different facilities cover a 14 acre area, including an old school house, a CPR station, Anglican church, farm house and a steam-powered mill. Open early May to late August daily from 1:00 to 5:00 p.m. Admission free, with donations accepted. Limited wheelchair access.